Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
203 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just curious, why did you decide to use an old style forum for a relatively new project?

Why don't you use for example Discourse?

I have a few issues with a design of existing forum.

• It's really hard to use on mobile devices and tablets.
  • It's hard to subscribe and follow threads I'm interested in.
  • It's hard to read comments, because the of quotes, signatures and other pointless information.
If you're interested, I can help you. I have some experience in making successful forums.

·
Registered
203 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I use Tapatalk... All forums look the same to me lol.
Tapatalk is a tool made because of that problem.

The forum can look good and be easy to use itself, without any extra tools.

I believe it's an important question to raise, especially on early stage of a community.

·
Super Moderator
1,235 Posts
The host of this forum has (100's?) of forums all using the same front and backends. There is a great deal of efficiency in it.

·
Registered
203 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Oh, I see now. It's a franchise of motorcycle.com

If it were an independent forum - it would be more flexible.

·
Super Moderator
1,655 Posts
I've dealth with Forums in the past with the same layout as this one, so it wasn't all to unfamiliar to me. But I must agree to some extent, it could have been better. A little more neat and tidy, of sort.
But, then again, I only ever access the Forum by PC, and by a pressing "new posts" at the top, I get right to what's of interest.
But say I wanna find a thread again that's been dead for some time? It's a bit of a hassle to be able to search for it each time I wanna do that.

·
Registered
203 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Guys, have a look on Discourse Demo, it's another modern form engine. This forum can be migrated into it.

- It's so much cleaner and easy to use.
- Setting don't look like a helicopter dashboard