Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I self-proclaim I'm a newbie to motorcycles and frankly manual transmissions in general (I drive an auto but I know HOW to drive stick, just don't own one)

I've heard this term "Throttle blipping" thrown out lately in motorcycling conversations and what not, and I understand what it is, basically matching engine RPM's to wheel RPM's during a downshift.

Does the Rebel 500 benefit from this? Every YouTube video I see talking about it is recorded on sport bikes. I started to wonder if this was a sport bike practice, or something used on bikes with quick shifters, or something else entirely I'm not connecting. Nobody has mentioned it here that I can find, wasn't mentioned in the safety course when getting endorsement. So what's the deal on this business?

Educate me

·
Registered
712 Posts
The safety class refers to it as rev matching. It's basically to ensure a smoother, less jumpy downshift If you're going to use engine braking rather than just coasting and braking.

Personally, I just wait to downshift until the rpms are in the right range for the next lower gear, then downshift and ease the clutch back out.

·
Registered
437 Posts
i do it every time i downshift, the reason you could be running it high in 3rd gear downshift to second and your rear tire locks up causing you to high side. anyone saying there's no reasons obviously hasn't had the rear lock up on them yet.

·
Registered
712 Posts
i do it every time i downshift, the reason you could be running it high in 3rd gear downshift to second and your rear tire locks up causing you to high side. anyone saying there's no reasons obviously hasn't had the rear lock up on them yet.
I would think a better solution would be to not downshift into 2nd if you're still in 3rd at high rpms.

But that's just me lol

·
Registered
712 Posts
wait till you do it! Don't forget to come back and say hello :)