Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello fellow people. I'm new to the world of riding and motorcycles. As much as exciting it is, it is also a tad scarry and yet unclarified. I would like to asked then, if I get an aftermarket slip on exhaust, let's say the TBR exhaust, would I also have to install a power commander or the PCFC. I know it's not necessary and that it's only recommended, but does the engine run leaner on those exhausts or hotter, for that matter? I don't want to cause any damage to the engine. Most people, from what I read in these (new here as well, but I'm catching up pretty fast), they don't seem to have any problems. Can anyone inform me further on the aftermarket exhausts?

P.S I don't know if this post belongs here.

·
Registered
1,329 Posts
Cruiser,

Welcome to The Forum.....

Ride Safe & Keep The Shiny Side Up.....

I have had a Musarri Slip On Muffler on my Rebel 500 for the last 9000 miles without using a Power Commander and I have had no trouble.
You are probably going to hear some after firing on deceleration, if it is objectionable PM me and I will tell you how to get rid of it.

Kenny G

·
Registered
814 Posts
With the TBR you won't need it. Several others have gotten some other models like mentioned earlier and didn't need it as well.

I would say for most slip ons you would be fine, but there may be a few that are either to open or to restrictive where you would need a power commander. Like Kenny said you may get a slight rumble or popping sound when decelerating. Some people like the way it sounds, but if it bothers you there are ways to get rid of it.

·
Registered
1,329 Posts
Hi, i have the Mussari as well. Fitted it myself which was easy and it runs fine. Oh and i love the gurgling and popping!