Honda Rebel 300, 500, & 1100 Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2018 MCX500
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Heya - woman rider here. I've been riding a Lance Cali Classic 200i for 2 years, totally fine with the speed limitation and loving the automatic-ness of riding a scooter, and I had no intent to ever go on the freeway. I only got it because I could never find frikkin parking around where I live, which is near the beach in Long Beach, CA. I got my motorcycle permit in Sept 2019.

I was busy riding around town all the time, and then COVID happened and the DMV shut down. So I could not ever get in to take my driving test at the DMV. When my permit expired was about the time they started taking appointments again, and I took the test in October. Of course, I put my foot down, because the transmission is hard to control at low speed and honestly, when you're new, that's a really small circle. They renewed my permit for another year and I went on my way.

A few months before my permit was going to expire again, I started going down to the DMV on Sundays and practicing on the test track behind the building. When I had taken my test, the administrator said just go down and around and come back. So, I practice and got to where I could coast through most of the first circle, overcoming the speed control issue. When I went back at the beginning of September to try the test again. the test administrator said 2 times around. I had been practicing just going in a circle around and around and could do it 90% of the time. But with a large audience and the added pressure of this being the real deal, I put my foot down again. At that point, I said screw it, I will just go take the safety course and be done with the whole thing. My husband has been riding since 2013 and wanted me to take the course but I felt challenged by trying to pass the real test at the DMV so was kinda stubborn about it. He rides a BMW something-or-other. :p