Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just need to vent. The Rebel has some nice touches, like a hinged gas cap, a plastic type guard off the right clutch cable side so you dont scratch the engine, etc.

But why, for the love of easy maintence, is the muffler designed this way. Not only is it in the way for any type of paddock stand, it is also in the way of the axle nut, so any chain slack adjustments require taking it off. Come on design guys, you ride and take care of bikes right? Geez.

·
Registered
88 Posts
Is it hard to remove for some reason? Usually mufflers aren't but I'm not familiar with the Rebel as I don't have one yet. As an aircraft mechanic I tend to only view things as entire tasks, which sometimes involves removing seemingly unrelated items for access. How much time does it add?

·
Super Moderator
1,655 Posts
Is it hard to remove for some reason? Usually mufflers aren't but I'm not familiar with the Rebel as I don't have one yet. As an aircraft mechanic I tend to only view things as entire tasks, which sometimes involves removing seemingly unrelated items for access. How much time does it add?
2-5 minutes extra.

·
Registered
789 Posts
i agree about the paddock stand, i had to put extra rubber there to not scratch it.
But you don't need to remove the muffler to adjust the chain slack

·
Registered
691 Posts
I just need to vent. The Rebel has some nice touches, like a hinged gas cap, a plastic type guard off the right clutch cable side so you dont scratch the engine, etc.

But why, for the love of easy maintence, is the muffler designed this way. Not only is it in the way for any type of paddock stand, it is also in the way of the axle nut, so any chain slack adjustments require taking it off. Come on design guys, you ride and take care of bikes right? Geez.
I said the same thing but everyone here said how easy it is to remove the muffler. We'll see.

·
Registered
88 Posts