Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, some background.

I'm a newb rider, I have about 600 miles on a scooter but only about 300 on my rebel, although I have been driving for 30+ years.
Recently I received an advertising email from a bike kit retailer talking about the benefits of puncture repair kits and encouraging people to buy one (of course).
The ones they are selling are needle type things that you push into the hole which seal the puncture so that you can re-inflate the tyre and get back to riding. I guess they are temporary fixes to get you moving to a dealer / tyre seller rather than a permanent fix.

From a car perspective I can't remember the last time that I had a puncture but I know a lot of people that have had them over the years. With a car it always comes with a jack / spare tyre / type inflater etc. as they have the space for them but when it comes to bikes I have no idea.

My thoughts are that if you have a puncture you should be thinking more about staying upright when it happens that about moving afterwards - but assuming you notice quick enough and stop ok - what then ? Are the repair kits actually worth considering ?

They don't seem to be something that needs to be in the tool bag but don't know enough to be sure.

·
Registered
99 Posts
Considering that they are quite cheap, why not?.. You never know. I bought one, never carry with me but I will on my longer tours just in case

·
Registered
742 Posts