Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry for the stupid question, I'm new to riding, and I'm having a hard time figuring out that sweet spot for how I should be sitting. I find myself leaning forward/arching my back to get lower like I'm on a crotch rocket or something. This results in my back starting to hurt - should my back be straight while I'm riding? If I do that, my arms are like 90% extended which makes it a bit harder for me to turn correctly, but its less strain on my back. What am I doing wrong? haha.
Thanks for any input.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Same here. Just picked up my bike today and faced the same question. I was riding a Yamaha Nmax up until now, sitting completely up-right. I'm 5.6".

I remember Ryan from FortNine saying mentioning the same thing in his review of the Rebel, and I think he's way taller than me.

·
Super Moderator
1,655 Posts
I'm 1,86 m tall, and I've been recommended to use a kidney belt. Helps with keeping the back more straight and less strained.
I've not experienced much pain or hassle without one so far, so I haven't gotten one yet, but might be worth looking into.

·
Registered
221 Posts
You may want to rotate your handlebars closer to you. They will get a bit lower as well, but it might work for you. It worked for me.

·
Registered
138 Posts
^^^ definitely. I rotated the bars towards me and even that little bit helped with comfort a lot for me. As for the sweet spot you just have to figure it out, it's different for everyone. Personally I lean forward a bit because I feel like my back takes less of a beating compared to sitting fully upright.

·
Registered
221 Posts