Honda Rebel 300, 500, & 1100 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone,

I am new to riding and had a question on the DCT version of the Rebel 1100. With a reasonable amount of practice can a new rider pass the driving test with the 1100 DCT? To give a bit of back story I took the MSF course and enjoyed it however I also learned that because of having no feeling in my middle and ring finger on my left hand and arthritis in the others I could not feather the clutch, it was an all or nothing pull which of course resulted in a lot of stalls. It was frustrating to not be able to ride the bike as it was intended.

If I buy the 1100 DCT do you think I will I be able to learn to do the parking lot tests on it or will it just be to much power for a new rider to effectively learn on?

Thank you for any advice you can give.

Ash

·
Registered
2021 Rebel 1100, 2004 Shadow Aero, 2015 KLR, 2014 CB500X
7 Posts
Hello, Ash12... glad to see that you want to get into riding. I own a Rebel 1100 DCT. This is just my opinion - IT'S NOT THE BEST, but it's not the worst choice for a new rider. It has a low seat height, is relatively light, and couldn't be easier to ride. This bike has power, and I have never recommended a 1000cc ride for anyone just starting out. This does have different modes - power levels that make it less intimidating, but it's still a really powerful bike. Grabbing a handful of throttle really brings it to life and it flat moves.