Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm a beginner that's 5'11", 400 lbs and in love with the Rebel 500. I'm working on losing weight and the fact that I'm posting this question is one more reason. I'm aware that the bike's curb weight is 408 lbs and the maximum weight capacity is 346 lbs.

I've read online of heavy riders setting the suspension to 5 for maximum spring preload without issue. I'm curious if my weight exceeds the amount that will make this a viable option?

I appreciate in advance your comments.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Have you considered honda shadow ? There's a lot of good used ones with fuel injection
Yes, it weighs 51 lbs more, has 112 cc more, but only 14 lbs more weight capacity.
I'm trying to find a balance between a bike with lower wet weight and cc for a beginner and higher weight capacity for my size. I've been comparing specifications for two weeks and the Rebel 500 may check the boxes if it'll support me.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
good luck on the weight loss man. i was 275 waited till i got to 220 before i bought a 300 now 201.
Thank you. I was 200 lbs in high school and wrestled 285 lbs in college, so my goal is 300 lbs.
How does the Rebel 300 handle with 220 lbs?

·
Registered
219 Posts
Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but you can rest assured that if Honda stipulate a maximum of 346lbs that is what they mean. They will no doubt have tested it to the extremes to arrive at that figure.

As for changing or adjusting the rear suspension. Don’t forget weight travels to the front under normal and heavy braking - the Rebel brakes are not the best as it is! Furthermore, a heavily weighted bike impairs braking efficiency. Without doing extensive research I would suggest excessive weight would effect the structural stability of the bike as well as having some effect on the engine and other components.