Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Rebels!

The new Rebel 500 has been gellin' in the back of my mind for a few weeks now and I can't shake it! Thought I'd join the forum to share in the buzz of this new model.

I've been riding for over 30 years on a 650, 750, and current Pacific Coast 800. For the last year, I've been doing a casual maintenance restoration on the PC and dreaming about what my next ride might be. My tastes have changed a bit in what I think I want in a bike. The PC has it all - and maybe more...

For the 16 years that I've owned my PC, it has been mechanically trouble free, it owes me nothing. Great gas mileage (50 mpg), comfortable ride, lots of storage capacity, and NO chrome! What's not to like? Plastic! The entire bike is sheathed in plastic panels. That's what I wanted at the time, but times have changed. I no longer want to spent hours of plastic panel removal to do minutes of maintenance tasks. Battery removal is a PITA!

What I really like about the 500 is its simplicity. No plastic, no chrome, easy engine and mechanical access, light weight / balance, basic retro bobber styling. Before the 500, I had been really keen on the Royal Enfield Classic as a basic light bike.

It'll be 2018 before I get the Rebel 500, but I'd like to share in the adventure with y'all now!

·
Registered
145 Posts
Welcome! I was drawn to the Rebel for the same reason. I liked the simple, blacked out look to it. Have you had the chance to take one out for a ride yet? The test ride sealed the deal for me.

-CG

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Welcome! I was drawn to the Rebel for the same reason. I liked the simple, blacked out look to it. Have you had the chance to take one out for a ride yet? The test ride sealed the deal for me.

-CG
No, I've not ridden one yet, that'll be the deciding factor. I have only sat on them in the showrooms.