Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a complete beginner, with no history of riding at all.

I've had one lesson so far (so i'm still a good amount of time and effort away from owning a bike or having my licence), and it was on a really old beat-up 250 somethingorother, and even that bike felt like it had enough torque to put me in some potentially scary positions?

I've read tons online that I shouldn't buy too small of a bike, because i'm going to want to upgrade v soon, but if i'm buying second hand, maybe I should start on a 300 before graduating to a 500 in a few months when my confidence is up?

Would love to hear everyone's thoughts, am excited to get exploring on this forum!

·
Registered
465 Posts
In the UK, they start on 125s. I returned to biking with a 250 and I kept it for 11 years of very contented regular use (until a forced change - to my 500 Rebel). I did add a more powerful bike to the stable during those years (now a Yamaha MT-07). Choice depends partly on how you will use a bike. A 300 will, for example, restrict your overtaking possibilities (the 500 to some extent too), but I contented myself with going with the flow - probably for the best in your case in your early years. If you are riding the twisties, greater power is still not a requirement. My choice betwen the 300 and the 500, depended on my preference for twin cylinder engines rather than singles. But that issue is unlikely to impinge upon you for a while. My pleasure from motocycling is derived from motion, the terrain and the freedom. Any bike would do really. I've even been admiring the Honda C125 (thoughfor my lounge really!).

·
Registered
437 Posts