Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody!

This is my first year getting into motorcycling and currently own a black Rebel 500 (non-ABS). So far I've put a little over 500 miles on the new Rebel and I'm loving it.

Originally I purchased a brand new 2017 Grom this past December, and once the snow melted here in WI I learned the basics on that. But once the new Rebels were released, I knew I had to upgrade. The Grom was extremely easy to learn on, but just didn't have enough power to make me happy. For one, being roughly 235 lbs, if I was riding into a headwind, I couldn't get above 45 MPH (on a 55 MPH road). That was a bummer.

Anyways, I think the Rebel 500 is a GREAT fit for a new rider like myself. I commute to/from work on the Rebel and love going out for rides whenever the weather allows.

I'm excited for the aftermarket parts to start rolling out so we can really start to customize our Rebels and make them our own.:smile2:

·
Registered
204 Posts
Welcome to the forums and congratulations. The Grom does seem like an ideal learners bike as you can really throw it around and it's not over-powered by far.

What kind of mods are you looking towards for the Rebel 500? Also, why did you opt for the non-ABS version of it?

·
Registered
178 Posts
Welcome to the forums and congratulations. The Grom does seem like an ideal learners bike as you can really throw it around and it's not over-powered by far.

What kind of mods are you looking towards for the Rebel 500? Also, why did you opt for the non-ABS version of it?
My rebel 300 is non-abs. Quite honestly, never gave it much thought. Obviously abs is added security, but look at it this way, you master the non-abs, what need will you have for abs?