Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey so I'm new to this hobby and I'm wondering what you all would say about new engine break ins. Anything special besides an oil change?

·
Super Moderator
1,255 Posts
limit and vary your rpms - keep the rpms low but don't !!! lug the engine - 2000 to 3000 rpms for the first 20 minutes

limit your top end - first 1000 miles don't use more than 3/4 throttle

the good news is... you can do 1000 miles in 2 weeks if you're committed to it

·
Registered
814 Posts
limit and vary your rpms - keep the rpms low but don't !!! lug the engine - 2000 to 3000 rpms for the first 20 minutes

limit your top end - first 1000 miles don't use more than 3/4 throttle

the good news is... you can do 1000 miles in 2 weeks if you're committed to it
FYI no Tach on the bike so good luck trying to monitor rpms.

Don't lug/ Don't push it to hard. Just vary for the first 600miles.

·
Registered
60 Posts
I think alot of people always remember the "go easy" part of breaking in, but alot of people forget the "but don't baby it" part. Still give it some good throttle, just don't go all out. I normally accelerate with half throttle and shift later (bringing rpm up) as much as I can when breaking in.

·
Registered
42 Posts
I've always believed in the "hard break in" process which is what I've done to all my bikes so far. The most important thing is to get the engine to a good working temp before doing any "good" runs on the bike. Also, make sure to cool it down after hard runs. As far as the rebel is specifically concerned, I've noticed that the transmission has since become smoother after about 200+ miles of this process while my cousin has said that even after 200+ miles on his, his tranny still feels a little notchy. might just be random. anyway, however you do it, make sure you enjoy it. Cheers!

·
Registered
204 Posts
I like the sounds of the hard break-in process a lot more ;)