Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
306 Posts
Rather a graphic demonstration, but it's one of the most important things new riders must understand and get used to.

I've ridden for 50+ years and have always used counter steering ever since I experienced it as a young kid riding bikes in paddocks and back lanes.

I've done it for so long that it's instinctive. By the way, I'm totally self taught and have never done a rider training course in my life.
When I started riding there was no such thing, and by the time there were rider training courses, I was totally at one with my bikes.

I don't actually try to "steer" the bike when riding at speed. If I need to go right, I gently push on the right grip and the bike leans and turns right.

I use my "push right to go right/push left to go left" method as it makes sense to me rather than "steer left to go right".

Similarly, if I want to go left, gently push on the left grip and the bike leans to the left and turns left.

As I said, it becomes instinctive, but if you're a new rider it must be conditioned into your mind and body and I think the only way to do that is to find a suitable area and experiment and get the feel of how you and the bike interact.

Cheers
Jim

·
Registered
674 Posts
The last thing this form needs is for people to post crash videos. If anyone wants to see crash videos they can go to YouTube. It has no place here. These videos have no value at all.

·
Registered
674 Posts
Rather a graphic demonstration, but it's one of the most important things new riders must understand and get used to.

I've ridden for 50+ years and have always used counter steering ever since I experienced it as a young kid riding bikes in paddocks and back lanes.

I've done it for so long that it's instinctive. By the way, I'm totally self taught and have never done a rider training course in my life.