Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, Hoping you can direct a complete newbie. Please don't laugh at me too hard for these questions.

I bought a 2019 Honda Rebel 300. I've had it one month now, although I was travelling for some of that time. The dealer was very busy the day I bought the bike and seemed to have missed a few important details. Apparently the owners manual is in the under seat storage, which he said can be opened with an allen key. But I don't see anywhere to use an allen key and wondering if he's just blowing me off.

I want to find the manual because I now badly need to check the oil. The 'oil window' that people seem to talk about does not seem obvious to me, and the oil doesn't seem to have a dipstick to use. Apologies if i'm missing something obvious but i'm grateful for any knowledge you can share.

·
Registered
349 Posts
The allen key is under the right side panel, held in place by a screw. The seat bolts are to the rear of the seat, raise the padding a bit and you'll see them. I'm sure the oil is fine, Welcome and good luck!

·
Registered
742 Posts
What He said ^^^^^^^^^
no there is no dipstick, the bike should be straight up and down when you look into the oil window. so either have another person look at it while you sit upright, or if you have/bought a rear stand you can check yourself, or if neither of those apply stick a piece of 2X4 under the kickstand. it will almost be upright at that point, and you can have a look yourself. just be careful with that method in case the bike leans too far to the right. you should be on that side anyway checking the window

·
Registered
127 Posts
download the 300 owners manual HERE

as stated by R80rt the hex key for taking the seat off is under the right cover

go to page 65 in the owners manual for picture and instructions for removing seat