Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm looking at seats with springs and don't know what to think about them. So you know, I am new to motos, i just did 2000 km on my Rebel500. I just cruise at low speeds on perfect city streets.

The thing is:
- i don't like the original seat, it would need more padding;
- i don't want to mess the original seat so I can give it stock in a few years when i sell it;
- I wouldn't mind some extra height seat;

Are these seats any good?

I stopped at this one because it has sort of a cover under the seat, I don't want all that wiring under the seat to be exposed.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Solo-Bobber-Spring-seat-SG12-Honda-Shadow-VT-1100-C2-C3-Aero-Rebel-CMX-500/391955551046?hash=item5b425f1346:g:pf0AAOSw9tlb2O4r:rk:18:pf:0

Thanks.

·
Registered
332 Posts
Spring seat is good. I fitted one of the 1930s/40s type ('Terry Lycette') sprung saddles to my Yamaha TDM. I had to build a sub-frame to carry it and it was set just a little higher than standard. I covered it in leather and no-one knew what was underneath. 11 springs between me and the bike was bliss.

The saddles come in different sizes and a larger one may be more appropriate, if you wished to go my route. Getting anchoring points for the rear springs was sorted by the sub-frame. The sub-frame also facilitates a covering. I used the bikes standard seat fixings to the bike.

·
Registered
332 Posts
(Cannot edit my post!) Just a PS - I wondered if the seat shown has springs radiating from the front to back like a proper saddle. If not, what do you sit on?

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I found another one, same built, different size.. I need to read some more to see which one is a better fit for the rebel. I'm just curious is somebody has this already put on.