Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m buying my first bike ! I have some experience riding mopeds in Europe. I’m male 6’1 200lbs. I know the dimensions of the 500 and 300 are the same.

My intent is to use this bike as a city commuter. Occasionally taking it to the cottage. We have a truck for the long drives.

My question is regarding power. Is it a good idea to start at 500 instead of 300 ? And is a cruiser a good first choice ? These sales ppl keep telling me to go with a ninja or other sport bikes. I like the cruiser feel though.

Thanks for your help everyone

·
Registered
253 Posts
Chances are you will find the Rebel cramped or rather on the small size. I'm between 5'4-5'5 and the size of the bike is perfect for me.

I say the 500 is a great bike if you never want to have doubts about power...but you might be too tall of a dude for this bike.

·
Registered
136 Posts
Agreed with SLI above re: your height being the problematic thing with this bike. When it comes to power though, I went from riding smaller minicycles/minbikes/mopeds and had bought the 500 right away. Not a problem in the slightest. It is far from being too much power for a beginner, and frankly I think the 500 works much better doing slow speed maneuvers than the 300. I took the MSF course (after I already had my 500) and rode the 300 during it, and I was surprised at how much more effort the bike seemed to need on slow maneuvers for me. If you're going to go for the Rebel just go with the 500. More bang for your buck, and frankly that buck isn't much more than the 300. ;)

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I’m buying my first bike ! I have some experience riding mopeds in Europe. I’m male 6’1 200lbs. I know the dimensions of the 500 and 300 are the same.

My intent is to use this bike as a city commuter. Occasionally taking it to the cottage. We have a truck for the long drives.