Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

I am new to the Rebel community and recently picked up a used 2017 Rebel 500 ABS. I picked it up with 5,100 miles and it currently has 5,200 miles on the odo. The previous maintenance by the previous owner was 600 mile maintenance, oil change at 3,000 miles and an oil change at 5,000. Is there anything else I should do at my current mileage? Since I bought the bike used, I just want to make sure everything is good. Looking forward to any suggestions and advice. :smile2:

My bike did not come with the owner's manual. haha

·
Registered
1,329 Posts
Nast,

Keep an eye on the chain and lube it often, I do my chain every 500 miles, but my conditions here in North Texas are better than some on the forum have.

Get into the habit of checking your tire pressure frequently.

Kenny G

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Kenny,

I checked the pressure last night and was planning to do a chain clean and lube over weekend. I will definitely check my chain every 500 miles. Appreciate the advice.

·
Registered
100 Posts
I do the chain like every 2nd week, still trying to find the best lube.. I've had the wurth dry lube, best reviews everywhere but it didn't work for me, now trying a wd40 wet chain lube, it's ok but messy..

As for the tire pressure, I have replaced the stock valve cap for a pressure alert one, really good stuff, no need for a gauge, just look if it goes yellow or red and inflate it..

https://www.sportsbikeshop.co.uk/motorcycle_parts/content_prod/74242

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I do the chain like every 2nd week, still trying to find the best lube.. I've had the wurth dry lube, best reviews everywhere but it didn't work for me, now trying a wd40 wet chain lube, it's ok but messy..