Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I take my State sponsored motorcycle class this weekend. (as my name says...I'm a complete newbie) Never owned or even ridden a motorcycle before. I'm still undecided as to what to purchase. I'll think I'm settled on a model, then I change my mind. Sometimes it's the Rebel 500, then it's the Rebel 300. Other times it's a used small 300 sport bike, knowing I'm going to ride it for a year then sell it. (there are LOTS of them for sale) And there's a Kawasaki Vulcan S (used) for sale near me...tempting.

But I still like the idea of the Rebel 300. There's a cost savings...so if I 'outgrow' it...I won't take as much of a hit in the wallet when I sell it. My only concern is it could be under powered. But I don't know what's over or underpowered. I have no frame of reference. And as I've said in another thread, that clutch cover of the 500 banging into my ankle really bugs me. I know people here have said I'll get used to it, but I dunno about that. That's the only thing (but I think it's a big thing) that keeps me from considering the 500.

So I've never seen a thread or postings where people talk about satisfaction or regrets about buying the 300. So I put it out here on the forum: Any regrets buying the 300 instead of the 500?

·
Registered
417 Posts
there's a bunch of threads like that. some guy on here was so sure he was going to love the 300 two months later hated it. You're never going to know till you make a decision and even still the grass is always greener, i will say you can always get forward controls on the 500 and the crank case wouldn't be an issue any longer. or just look at some other bikes.

·
Registered
527 Posts