Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking into getting a rebel 300 as my second motorcycle. I currently have a SYM Wolf Classic 150 (yeah, you've probably never heard of it, but think of an old cb125 but made in 2015). I absolutely love the thing, but I want something a little more powerful, specifically for highway riding. I know the first thing I'll be told is to get the 500, but, to be honest, the 500 is a little too expensive for me - I'm a broke college student with a bit of extra cash. The most important things for me are fuel economy and weight, so I'm firmly set on the 300. I don't think I'll get bored with the smaller engine any time soon either; I've had my little 150 for 4 years and I still love it. I'm 5'11" and about 180 pounds, and I can manage the 55 mph highways in rural Pennsylvania where I live just fine with my 14 horsepower, but to go anywhere interesting, I need to get on the interstate where the speed limit is 65, but it's still only 2 lanes and people generally go about 65-70. I've watched a few videos from YouTubers on their experience with the 300 on highways, and the general consensus is that 70-75 is sustainable, but there's not much left over. I'm okay with that, though - I just want to be able to get on the thing. Obviously the 300 is far from the best choice for highway cruising, but it just looks so darn good, and I've got a sweet spot for small bikes.

Sorry for the long post, my main questions are what's it like to live with the 300 and what is the highway experience like?

·
Registered
337 Posts
You'll get up to highway speed and can sustain it yeah...but it's sooooooo buzzy. I mean technically, you can break any posted speed limit in US and Can on this thing, but like you said, nothing left in reserve. If you need to get away when you're already at the max, your only option is to decelerate/swerve.