4Likes
  • 2 Post By ryan
  • 1 Post By janesdaddy
  • 1 Post By bajonett

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-23-2017, 04:33 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Cold/wet weather clothing recommendations

Motorcycle newbie here seeking help from you old-timers... Having recently experienced being nearly frozen alive one morning (okay, it was actually still 50 F) and with the first actual freezing (32 F) overnight lows here in SW Montana, I'm looking for recommendations for cold and/or wet weather riding gear. I'm more concerned with performance than price. I'm of an average height but "stocky" or "husky" build. I also have a preference for hi-viz yellow (for safety) if that is a factor. Can anyone recommend any good brands or products to lengthen the riding season for us tundra dwellers?
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-23-2017, 04:38 PM

Garage
Daddy,

When I lived in the north east I wore snow mobile suits for winter motorcycle riding.

I rode when the weather was in the 30s.

Remember your face is subject to frost bite and wear something to cover it.

Kenny
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-24-2017, 05:39 AM

Garage
Face and eyes need to be protected when riding in cold weather. Snow mobile suit makes sense, I'm sure there are a lot of clothing wear out there for cycle riding. I would visit a local store and ask some of the folks there what is best in your area for the conditions. Go from there and let us know what you choose.
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-24-2017, 06:16 AM

I rode to work in 40 deg f the other morning and was pretty warm for the most part. I've got a lesser known brand of gortex jacket and trousers, each have a thermal lining (although I haven't put the lining in the trousers yet). As long as you keep the wind out of your clothes and neck you're onto a winner. Most importantly, spend some cash on some decent winter gloves. I've just bought some rev'it sirius h2o gloves and they are very effective