New sticking throttle grip - Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By 01-7700
  • 2 Post By Tdubb
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-06-2017, 04:59 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Tdubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 46
New sticking throttle grip

I got some new handlebar grips and the throttle side came with the whole throttle, not just the grip. When I attach the cables and reinstall on the bars they are stiff. Any ideas? The new one is on the left and the stock on the right
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1507323576080.jpg
Views:	158
Size:	100.1 KB
ID:	10017  
Tdubb is offline  
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-06-2017, 05:25 PM
Super Moderator
 
01-7700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,068
Garage
Use your old throttle tube if you can.
Tree likes this.

Keith from Maine USA - Rebel R1
01-7700 is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-06-2017, 06:39 PM
Super Moderator
 
Lyoko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Europe - Norway
Posts: 1,656
Garage
What do you mean as in "stiff"? Like it wont move? Or it does move, but doesn't return to "neutral" position when letting go?

Lyoko - Black Rebel 500
Lyoko is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-06-2017, 09:39 PM
Senior Member
 
CueBaller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 715
That new one looks like it was very sloppily manufactured.

I'd recommend putting the original back on and buying a good set of slip on grips to replace the stock ones.

2017 Honda Rebel 500 - Black
CueBaller is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-06-2017, 10:32 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Tdubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by CueBaller View Post
That new one looks like it was very sloppily manufactured.

I'd recommend putting the original back on and buying a good set of slip on grips to replace the stock ones.
No that was grease that I put on it trying to make sure it wasn?t binding up or something. I figured it out though. Had to loosen the throttle cable up and it works good now. Thanks
Kenny G and Lyoko like this.
Tdubb is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-06-2017, 11:41 PM
Senior Member
 
CueBaller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 715
Ah, gotcha...glad it worked out!

2017 Honda Rebel 500 - Black
CueBaller is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-17-2018, 01:03 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 13
What size did you order for new grips? I see most are 7/8 but I think our bikes have 1" bars?? Thanks
realeastLBC is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-17-2018, 01:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Hondora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 106
Did you cut the old grips off or did you get them off without destroying them?
Hondora is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-17-2018, 03:04 AM
Super Moderator
 
Lyoko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Europe - Norway
Posts: 1,656
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by realeastLBC View Post
What size did you order for new grips? I see most are 7/8 but I think our bikes have 1" bars?? Thanks
Yes, they are 1" bars.

Lyoko - Black Rebel 500
Lyoko is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throttle slop. shortyg83 Honda Rebel 300 & 500 General Discussion 5 05-10-2017 10:40 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome