This headlight mod is so expensive - Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum
 5Likes
Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Unread 06-12-2019, 12:45 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 8
This headlight mod is so expensive

Has anyone else Fort Des headlight mod and if so does anyone know where to get it? I've only found one place and the price is astronomical.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190611-151804_Chrome_1560314664369.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	466.6 KB
ID:	28403  
Mondingo is offline  
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Unread 06-12-2019, 08:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 281
flyinbrianbmx is online now  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Unread 06-12-2019, 08:37 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyinbrianbmx View Post
just so you know, you have just became my new best friend.
flyinbrianbmx likes this.
Mondingo is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Unread 06-12-2019, 09:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 281
haha, you're welcome!

2016 Rebel 500 non ABS
flyinbrianbmx is online now  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Unread 06-12-2019, 11:28 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyinbrianbmx View Post
haha, you're welcome!
modifying this bike is not as easy as one would think. First of all every website has the handlebars listed at 7 age when they're actually 1in. So I just bought the Diablo drag bars and I'm wondering if I'm going to need new cables made?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190603-040045_eBay_1560353299619.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	1.20 MB
ID:	28419  
Mondingo is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Unread 06-12-2019, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mondingo View Post
modifying this bike is not as easy as one would think. First of all every website has the handlebars listed at 7 age when they're actually 1in. So I just bought the Diablo drag bars and I'm wondering if I'm going to need new cables made?
if they're flat drag bars you will not need new cables. i have them on my bike, but depending on which ones you bought you may or may not need to drill a hole in the bars to mount the controls. but i think the diablo ones come pre drilled

2016 Rebel 500 non ABS
flyinbrianbmx is online now  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Unread 06-12-2019, 01:11 PM
Junior Member
 
Otroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Boise Idaho
Posts: 20
Wish I could find a plug and play headlight for the wife's bike but without the cowl. Thanks for the link though.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Otroo is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Unread 06-12-2019, 01:20 PM
SLI
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Posts: 192
Hope you're patient, from my experience with HRP it's quite the wait getting stuff from them, if it does get to you.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mondingo View Post
just so you know, you have just became my new best friend.
Kenny G likes this.
SLI is online now  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Unread 06-13-2019, 03:11 PM
Member
 
illec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otroo View Post
Wish I could find a plug and play headlight for the wife's bike but without the cowl. Thanks for the link though.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk



Pretty much any light with a H4 socket is plug and play. i used this one that's meant for a Harley Sportster. Just had to do some light trimming to metal trim in the cowl to make it fit.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190611_193830.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	258.2 KB
ID:	28431  
flyinbrianbmx and Otroo like this.
illec is online now  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Unread 06-14-2019, 06:35 PM
Junior Member
 
Otroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Boise Idaho
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by illec View Post
Pretty much any light with a H4 socket is plug and play. i used this one that's meant for a Harley Sportster. Just had to do some light trimming to metal trim in the cowl to make it fit.
Yeah I have been thinking of going that route. Did you have to drill and tap the housing?

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Otroo is offline  
Reply




Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome