Seat Advice - Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 01:43 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Seat Advice

I'm new to both my Rebel 500 and motorcycling in general. I like the Rebel 500 except for two things: the mirrors -- which I've already done something about -- and the seat. Basically, I get a sore ass after an hour. It feels like I'm bottoming out (pun intended).

When I start searching around, I see:

• Some folks recommend memory foam. Some say to stay away from it because it doesn't "spring back" like regular foam.
  • Some recommendations for gel seats.
  • Some for stiffer foam and some for softer...although everyone says "more".
  • Spring seat vs. not spring seat?
I'm a big guy and I want something that can deal with that, so my gut tells me that stiffer foam is probably the answer. However, I'm looking for general advice if anyone has some.

Also, are there manufacturers where there's a consensus on good quality? I looked at Corbin, which seems to get a lot of positive review, but their seat appears to be a two-up model and I just want the driver seat.

Or, is the way to go to take my existing seat to an upholsterer and ask them to do it?

Thanks.

Last edited by tdeffler; 05-19-2019 at 01:51 PM.
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 03:15 PM
SLI

Corbin only offers a single gunfighter seat on their website.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 05:23 PM

Garage
I googled custom motorcycle seats and quite a few popped up. Thereís many more if you alter your search. You could seek recommendations or contact them and get your seat redone. Good luck
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 05:39 PM

FWIW, I have found the following for me:
Gel did not help; gel + foam was better;
Neoprene foam is firm and comfortable on my Rebel. The extra foam has been used to flattened the seat;
Sprung saddle: Now you're talking; I once fitted one to another bike. It was a little firm but the best.