Blinker relay acting like "Emergency lights" after installing aftermarket tailight - Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum
 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-14-2018, 08:51 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ryandavis1555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 110
Blinker relay acting like "Emergency lights" after installing aftermarket tailight

Hey yall,

I installed an aftermarket taillight last year and has been great for me so far. The front turn signals blinked a little faster than stock I believe *which I could care less about*, but today i started up my bike and the front turn signals were flashing like emergency lights and the turn signal was going off on my dash.

Any idea what would cause this? Is this some sort of shortage?
Ryandavis1555 is offline  
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-14-2018, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
fujirio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryandavis1555 View Post
Hey yall,

I installed an aftermarket taillight last year and has been great for me so far. The front turn signals blinked a little faster than stock I believe *which I could care less about*, but today i started up my bike and the front turn signals were flashing like emergency lights and the turn signal was going off on my dash.

Any idea what would cause this? Is this some sort of shortage?
you check the fuses? Check the electric cables? Did you ever buy an aftermarket relay for the LED?
fujirio is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-14-2018, 10:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 173
You sure you didn't hit the hazard light switch by accident?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Kjd44 is offline  
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-14-2018, 11:10 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ryandavis1555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by fujirio View Post
you check the fuses? Check the electric cables? Did you ever buy an aftermarket relay for the LED?
I didnt buy an aftermarket relay. Not sure what a relay is to be honest. is this something that has to be inline with the running light cable or something?
Ryandavis1555 is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-14-2018, 11:11 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ryandavis1555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjd44 View Post
You sure you didn't hit the hazard light switch by accident?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I'm sure.... lol
Ryandavis1555 is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-14-2018, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 173
Did you change turn signals too?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Kjd44 is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-14-2018, 11:50 AM
Senior Member
 
fujirio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryandavis1555 View Post
I didnt buy an aftermarket relay. Not sure what a relay is to be honest. is this something that has to be inline with the running light cable or something?
I am putting my money on a bad relay. You need one to support the LED flash rate. I bought one from CustomLED and it works great. Also there support is awesome.

Here

The location is under the fuel tank (red circle). Photo by (Djdavies)

Ryandavis1555 likes this.

Last edited by fujirio; 06-14-2018 at 11:54 AM.
fujirio is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-14-2018, 02:05 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ryandavis1555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by fujirio View Post
I am putting my money on a bad relay. You need one to support the LED flash rate. I bought one from CustomLED and it works great. Also there support is awesome.

Here

The location is under the fuel tank (red circle). Photo by (Djdavies)

Awesome thanks man. That at least gives me somewhere to start. I was going to unattach the aftermarket light and hook up the stock to see what it would do, but replacing my relay might be my first step.

Do you have to take off the seat to get to this relay?
Ryandavis1555 is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-14-2018, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
CueBaller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 713
I think you have to take off the tank to get to that relay.

2017 Honda Rebel 500 - Black
CueBaller is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-14-2018, 04:03 PM
Senior Member
 
fujirio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryandavis1555 View Post
Awesome thanks man. That at least gives me somewhere to start. I was going to unattach the aftermarket light and hook up the stock to see what it would do, but replacing my relay might be my first step.

Do you have to take off the seat to get to this relay?
yes, take the seat off to access large hex bolt for tank removal. Or just do what I did and hold the tank up while gf removed old relay and plugged in new one (2 minute job).
fujirio is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
blinker relay Tdubb Electrical 0 08-14-2017 01:29 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome