Throttle blipping / rev matching - Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum
 18Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-10-2018, 04:24 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Throttle blipping / rev matching

I self-proclaim I'm a newbie to motorcycles and frankly manual transmissions in general (I drive an auto but I know HOW to drive stick, just don't own one)

I've heard this term "Throttle blipping" thrown out lately in motorcycling conversations and what not, and I understand what it is, basically matching engine RPM's to wheel RPM's during a downshift.

Does the Rebel 500 benefit from this? Every YouTube video I see talking about it is recorded on sport bikes. I started to wonder if this was a sport bike practice, or something used on bikes with quick shifters, or something else entirely I'm not connecting. Nobody has mentioned it here that I can find, wasn't mentioned in the safety course when getting endorsement. So what's the deal on this business?

Educate me

-----------------------------
2018 Rebel 500 ABS rider
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-10-2018, 05:04 PM

The safety class refers to it as rev matching. It's basically to ensure a smoother, less jumpy downshift If you're going to use engine braking rather than just coasting and braking.

Personally, I just wait to downshift until the rpms are in the right range for the next lower gear, then downshift and ease the clutch back out.

2017 Honda Rebel 500 - Black
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-10-2018, 05:16 PM

no reason to blip the throttle...
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-10-2018, 09:39 PM

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by CueBaller View Post
Personally, I just wait to downshift until the rpms are in the right range for the next lower gear, then downshift and ease the clutch back out.
This
Tree likes this.
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-13-2018, 01:14 PM