Honda Rebel 300, 500, & 1100 Forum banner

Throttle blipping / rev matching

11K views 36 replies 17 participants last post by  billnoroville 
#1 ·
I self-proclaim I'm a newbie to motorcycles and frankly manual transmissions in general (I drive an auto but I know HOW to drive stick, just don't own one)

I've heard this term "Throttle blipping" thrown out lately in motorcycling conversations and what not, and I understand what it is, basically matching engine RPM's to wheel RPM's during a downshift.

Does the Rebel 500 benefit from this? Every YouTube video I see talking about it is recorded on sport bikes. I started to wonder if this was a sport bike practice, or something used on bikes with quick shifters, or something else entirely I'm not connecting. Nobody has mentioned it here that I can find, wasn't mentioned in the safety course when getting endorsement. So what's the deal on this business?

Educate me

#2 ·
The safety class refers to it as rev matching. It's basically to ensure a smoother, less jumpy downshift If you're going to use engine braking rather than just coasting and braking.

Personally, I just wait to downshift until the rpms are in the right range for the next lower gear, then downshift and ease the clutch back out.

#15 ·
I rev-match while downshifting. It's not something that's required, at all. Like everyone one said, if you downshift at the appropriate time and let the clutch out smoothly, there's little-to-no tire chirp and definitely no rear lockup.

I began doing it because I ride in a lot of congestion and traffic, and many times I'll need to make a sudden gear change, maneuver, and I need to quickly get into a better gear safely. I began practicing the technique and now it's just habit for me...but even I know that in most scenarios there's little need for me to do it.

#16 · (Edited)