Sprocket change to 15t up front. - Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum
 21Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-17-2017, 04:37 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
RUTZ123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 21
Sprocket change to 15t up front.

I have decided that I would like the RPM's to be dropped slightly on the highway. From what I understand our bikes share many interchangeable parts with the cb300 line. I have ordered a 15t sprocket for the cb300 to install on the rebel. It should be here tomorrow and I will likely install it the same night! I will let everybody know how it goes. We have to get creative with the lack of aftermarket parts lol.

2017 REBEL 300 ALL STOCK.
RUTZ123 is offline  
post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-17-2017, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 178
Garage
Let us know how it goes and what differences you find with it.
macjosh1 is offline  
post #3 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-17-2017, 05:57 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
RUTZ123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 21
Will do! Most people say that you must clearance the case saver slightly on the CB. I also don't know how the factory chain length will work. I'm at 600 miles and I hope that it has broken in a bit and there will be sufficient slack for the larger sprocket with some adjustments at the swing-arm.

2017 REBEL 300 ALL STOCK.
RUTZ123 is offline  
post #4 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-25-2017, 12:52 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
RUTZ123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 21
The CBR300 sprocket officially will fit and work on the Rebel 300! I did not clearance the case saver at all, it is a really tight fit but honestly its job is to touch the chain in the event of total chain failure anyway. (which is highly unlikely on a 300cc with a properly maintained chain.) I do not think during normal riding the chain touches it, so far there has been no abnormal noise. Also the factory chain fits around it with some slight adjustments done back at the swingarm. I believe my speeds are now 30/32 40/43 50/54 60/65 obviously there is some rounding up and down going on.

Also now the stock speedometer is off, I kinda forgot about that. Has anyone used a GPS to measure the accuracy of the stock speedometer in MPH?

2017 REBEL 300 ALL STOCK.
RUTZ123 is offline  
post #5 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-25-2017, 03:10 PM
Super Moderator
 
Lyoko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Europe - Norway
Posts: 1,655
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUTZ123 View Post
Has anyone used a GPS to measure the accuracy of the stock speedometer in MPH?
Now that is a really good question!
I've just barely had that thought once or twice before, but have no way to check it myself atm. Someone should really look into that.
Lyoko is offline  
post #6 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-25-2017, 03:49 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
RUTZ123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 21
Well the question of stock accuracy dawned on me as I was putting the last bolts in the sprocket cover.....after changing to the new 15T sprocket lol. I have done the corrected speed calculation in 5 MPH incriminates from 20 to 70 MPH. I guess I will attempt to ride with my smart phone GPS speed app tonight and see if the numbers make sense!

2017 REBEL 300 ALL STOCK.
RUTZ123 is offline  
post #7 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-25-2017, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
dollarbill181's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Melrose Park, IL
Posts: 528
*sigh*...darn you guys. Okay, i leave work in an hour and rode today. Ill check the accuracy of the stock Speedo. Anyone know of a good speedometer app to use?
Lyoko likes this.
dollarbill181 is offline  
post #8 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-25-2017, 04:12 PM
Senior Member
 
CueBaller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 713
I've used DigiHUD before to get a reading on how fast my minibike was... lined up within a couple mph of the speedo on my brother's 4 wheeler.

If I remember, I'll open it up and check it against my truck on my way home today.
Lyoko likes this.

2017 Honda Rebel 500 - Black
CueBaller is offline  
post #9 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-25-2017, 04:49 PM
Member
 
Chritty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: IL
Posts: 38
Garage
I used a GPS against the stock speedometer and the speeds were identical for me.
Lyoko likes this.
Chritty is offline  
post #10 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-25-2017, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
CueBaller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 713
Confirmed on the way home, DigiHUD is spot on with my truck, keeping in mind that there's lag during accel/decel due to the measurements being taken from satellites miles above, rather than a computer at the other end of a wire.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk

2017 Honda Rebel 500 - Black
CueBaller is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanting to change the handlebars, need specs? Rising Sun Appearance Modifications 24 08-31-2019 10:17 AM
power commander after exhaust change? ipman Exhaust And Headers 8 05-15-2019 09:24 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome