Help! Handlebar mounted mirrors - Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 05-25-2017, 06:38 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator

Garage
Help! Handlebar mounted mirrors

Hey guys (girls?)

So I'm new here, so bear with me and go easy on me, will ya?
And as a matter of fact I'm rather new to having a mc, and yes, the lovely Honda Rebel 500 became my choise as a first bike.

So the thing is, I'm used to deal with things myself and thinker away with just about anything, and with a bike on my hands it's no different.
But I've come across a slight problem.

The mirrors in the pic are the ones I'm trying to mount.
Shouldnt be a problem, right? That's what I thought at least, boy was I wrong...
For those who are unfamiliar with what kind of problems you'll have trying mounting something like this, it is:
The girps on the handlebar has a 0,7 cm thick rubber part at the end. Remove that and you'll find yourself staring at a piece of aluminium. Not into the handlebar itself as I was expecting.
So I thought it was problably just a smale seal then, should be easy to remove. I drilled a 1,2 cm deep hole into it. Still not trou the lump of aluminium.
At this point I was just baffeled with how they have designed this handlebar, so I havn't tried anything else at the moment.
So I figured, why not shout out and see if someone else already has dealth with this problem? And HOW?!
Oh, and this is currently just on the left side. No idea what might be waiting me on the throttle side
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	handlebarmirror.jpg
Views:	179
Size:	20.8 KB
ID:	921  
post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 05-25-2017, 06:48 PM
Super Moderator

Garage
Welcome!
Lyoko likes this.

Keith from Maine USA - Rebel R1
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 05-25-2017, 07:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyoko-Code View Post
Hey guys (girls?)

So I'm new here, so bear with me and go easy on me, will ya?