Clutch-less Shifting - Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum
 52Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-18-2018, 09:21 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Clutch-less Shifting

Obviously we all have to use the clutch at a stop, but beyond 1st gear-who all ditches the clutch? For those that clutch-less shift, how well does the Rebel respond? Up is generally a non-issue, does it unsettle much on the way down seems how there's no slipper?

When life throws you a curve, lean in.
post #2 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-18-2018, 09:27 PM

Garage
why would you want to? you're not trying to save time on the track with this bike...
post #3 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-18-2018, 09:36 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Why would you not want to?

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

post #4 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-18-2018, 09:39 PM

Garage
cause i've been riding for 25 years and always used the clutch like i learned to. same as driving manual trans.
and you can call me crazy but i'd have to think eventually you're going to damage the transmission or something along the way.
post #5 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-18-2018, 09:42 PM Thread Starter

Garage
No, definitely not. Your car isn't sequential. Besides, a semi can do the same and that also defeats the argument.

post #6 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-18-2018, 09:48 PM

Garage
there's no argument i just don't understand why that's a 'thing'
but do what you want, your bike.
if your tallying votes for who ditches the clutch, then just put me down in the 'no' column and move on.
dollarbill181 likes this.
post #7 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-18-2018, 09:53 PM Thread Starter

Garage
I'm definitely not tallying votes, I specifically asked for those that did have experience to respond. With that being said, there are definitely a lot of misconceptions out there and it's a public forum so people should definitely contribute. It doesn't hurt to discuss things when people shelve their emotions and take a few seconds to research things.