Proper way to sit on this bike? - Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum
 18Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-16-2017, 04:04 PM Thread Starter

Proper way to sit on this bike?

Sorry for the stupid question, I'm new to riding, and I'm having a hard time figuring out that sweet spot for how I should be sitting. I find myself leaning forward/arching my back to get lower like I'm on a crotch rocket or something. This results in my back starting to hurt - should my back be straight while I'm riding? If I do that, my arms are like 90% extended which makes it a bit harder for me to turn correctly, but its less strain on my back. What am I doing wrong? haha.
Thanks for any input.
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-16-2017, 04:34 PM

Garage
Nik,

How tall are you?

Kenny G
trock59 likes this.
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-16-2017, 04:46 PM

Same here. Just picked up my bike today and faced the same question. I was riding a Yamaha Nmax up until now, sitting completely up-right. I'm 5.6".

I remember Ryan from FortNine saying mentioning the same thing in his review of the Rebel, and I think he's way taller than me.
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-16-2017, 05:07 PM
Super Moderator

Garage
I'm 1,86 m tall, and I've been recommended to use a kidney belt. Helps with keeping the back more straight and less strained.
I've not experienced much pain or hassle without one so far, so I haven't gotten one yet, but might be worth looking into.

Lyoko - Black Rebel 500
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-17-2017, 05:25 AM

Garage
Give yourself some time since your a new rider and I'm sure you'll find the best position for you. Believe we all have different stances on the bike (height/weight), and eventually we find that "Sweet Spot" sooner or later.
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-17-2017, 07:25 PM

You may want to rotate your handlebars closer to you. They will get a bit lower as well, but it might work for you. It worked for me.