• 1 Post By Strawdog
  • 3 Post By zohararad
  • 2 Post By Thrilla-Detroit

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-10-2017, 10:22 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Rebel 500 - Camping - longish ride

Hey team:

I'm really obsessed with the idea moto-camping and wanna take to 500 to northern MI. From my house it takes about 4 hours by car... I'm a newbie and plan on taking a bunch of smaller - non freeway - roads.. I know it's gonna be a much longer trip on the bike and plan on taking breaks every 60 to 90 minutes etc -- I'm looking for advise on what I should be preparing for [and if you think is a crazy/stupid idea]. One thing that comes to mind is something to make that saddle more comfy, like an Airhawk.. Would love to hear your thoughts!! Thanks all!

((( The Thrilla ))) D E T R O I T
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-10-2017, 10:37 AM
Super Moderator

Garage
As a newbie, you have to be very warry when driving on such roads, since those tend to hold alot of dangers you normaly don't encounter on "normal" roads with normal/heacy traffic.
There can be dirt, gravel, leafs, rocks, and etc on the road, making it slippery and dangerous for a bike. Especially in turns, since you might not be able to look far enough ahead to be aware of whatevers in your lane to be able to react soon enough.
Farmers might be working with heavy machinery on the road or close to it, and maybe they don't usually see much traffic and don't care about being mindfull of others driving there.
And such roads can be pretty thight and narrow, so meeting cars/trucks/tractors might take more of the road than they should, especially in turns/corners, and in worst case they could press you into the ditch.
Turns can be sharper than you expect them to be, so better safe than sorry, keep the speed down in the turns, and pull off again on the straights.

In short; Always expect the un-expected when riding. You've gotta drive for everybody else too on the road, not just yourself.