Is the 300 enough bike for me? - Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum
 13Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 04:50 AM Thread Starter

Is the 300 enough bike for me?

I am a complete beginner, with no history of riding at all.

I've had one lesson so far (so i'm still a good amount of time and effort away from owning a bike or having my licence), and it was on a really old beat-up 250 somethingorother, and even that bike felt like it had enough torque to put me in some potentially scary positions?

I've read tons online that I shouldn't buy too small of a bike, because i'm going to want to upgrade v soon, but if i'm buying second hand, maybe I should start on a 300 before graduating to a 500 in a few months when my confidence is up?

Would love to hear everyone's thoughts, am excited to get exploring on this forum!
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 06:18 AM

In the UK, they start on 125s. I returned to biking with a 250 and I kept it for 11 years of very contented regular use (until a forced change - to my 500 Rebel). I did add a more powerful bike to the stable during those years (now a Yamaha MT-07). Choice depends partly on how you will use a bike. A 300 will, for example, restrict your overtaking possibilities (the 500 to some extent too), but I contented myself with going with the flow - probably for the best in your case in your early years. If you are riding the twisties, greater power is still not a requirement. My choice betwen the 300 and the 500, depended on my preference for twin cylinder engines rather than singles. But that issue is unlikely to impinge upon you for a while. My pleasure from motocycling is derived from motion, the terrain and the freedom. Any bike would do really. I've even been admiring the Honda C125 (thoughfor my lounge really!).
rebelwithoutacause and dsctr3 like this.

Just do it! (I did: Rebel 500; MT-07)
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 08:18 AM