Gear Shift Indicator Honda 500 - Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum
 12Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 11:15 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 79
Gear Shift Indicator Honda 500

I had purchased off of eBay a gear shift indicator (Plug-n-play)



I had also found a machine aluminum gear shift indicator mount for 1 Inch handlebars so bought it.



Went to mount it today and come to find out the gear shift indicator is too large for the handlebar mount...darn it......


Plus the cord on the indicator comes out the back not off the end---so my question to you all is.....


How would be the best way be to mount this? I don't see using double-sided tape would work...or cable ties.



Surely there has got to be a nicer easy way to mount this darn thing.



Sadly--I bought these back in the fall and sat all winter long so don't I can return them for a refund. I really want to make the indicator work though.



Thank you all in advance!
Elembytes is offline  
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 11:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Kenny G's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Robson Ranch, Denton, TX USA 2017 Rebel 500
Posts: 1,256
Garage
Elem,

I used this for mounting my gear indicator:
https://www.amazon.com/LAMPHUS-Off-R...1778&s=gateway

You do have to drill one hole in the flat straight part back towards where it joins the circular part.

Also Twizz has a quick simple mount that he devised.

Kenny G
Kenny G is online now  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Robble10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Mid-Buckinghamshire, UK
Posts: 218
I have one ready to fit and I intend to use Blacktack, fixing it to the side of the display. I shall report in on whether this works.

Just do it! (I did: 2017 Rebel 500; 2014 MT-07)
Robble10 is online now  
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 09:48 PM
Super Moderator
 
Twizzian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Thailand
Posts: 927
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elembytes View Post
I had purchased off of eBay a gear shift indicator (Plug-n-play)



I had also found a machine aluminum gear shift indicator mount for 1 Inch handlebars so bought it.



Went to mount it today and come to find out the gear shift indicator is too large for the handlebar mount...darn it......


Plus the cord on the indicator comes out the back not off the end---so my question to you all is.....


How would be the best way be to mount this? I don't see using double-sided tape would work...or cable ties.



Surely there has got to be a nicer easy way to mount this darn thing.



Sadly--I bought these back in the fall and sat all winter long so don't I can return them for a refund. I really want to make the indicator work though.



Thank you all in advance!

As requested; this is my alternative.
There are other ideas on this thread too.

https://www.hondarebel3forum.com/for...dicator-5.html

Twizz
Twizzian is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-24-2019, 12:52 AM
Junior Member
 
SkyerCorp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: California
Posts: 12
Garage
Gear Shift Indicator Honda 500

I bought the gear shift indicator mount which was too small. Mine was from Amazon. I used a rotary tool (Dremel) to shave off the aluminum enough for it to fit. Works great after that and takes no time at all.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2019 Honda Rebel 500 ABS
SkyerCorp is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-24-2019, 09:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Prgrmerror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Columbia SC
Posts: 229
Garage
Another option for mounting the gear indicator. I used a bicycle seat post reflector mount. I used my dremmel to cut the surface to match the indicator. It does the job I haven’t touched it since install
Attached Images
 
Kenny G likes this.
Prgrmerror is online now  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-24-2019, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Maryland, U.S.
Posts: 647
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elembytes View Post
I don't see using double-sided tape would work...or cable ties.
double sided tape worked great for me, provided you by the right/strong stuff. i used 3M Red and it's held for a year now, no issues. Put one piece on the back where it touches the bar, and a piece on the left side where it touches the speedo.
Odin is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 07:39 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 79
What size hole did you drill?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny G View Post
Elem,

I used this for mounting my gear indicator:
https://www.amazon.com/LAMPHUS-Off-R...1778&s=gateway

You do have to drill one hole in the flat straight part back towards where it joins the circular part.







Also Twizz has a quick simple mount that he devised.

Kenny G



Hi Kenny:

Just out of curiosity what size hole did you drill through this mount towards the loop area? I take it then you fed the wire through that hole, but if you did did the connectors fit through the hole okay? Mine has 3 wires with metal tips which will plug into the modular plug. I am not sure they will fit through the hole okay unless I am envisioning this wrong. Thank you again!
Elembytes is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 09:26 AM
Member
 
illec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 62
I also used double sided tape to mount mine. Have had it for over a year and no issues thus far.
Odin likes this.
illec is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 09:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Kenny G's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Robson Ranch, Denton, TX USA 2017 Rebel 500
Posts: 1,256
Garage
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elembytes View Post
Hi Kenny:

Just out of curiosity what size hole did you drill through this mount towards the loop area? I take it then you fed the wire through that hole, but if you did did the connectors fit through the hole okay? Mine has 3 wires with metal tips which will plug into the modular plug. I am not sure they will fit through the hole okay unless I am envisioning this wrong. Thank you again!
Elem,

I drilled some test holes in a test piece to make sure the wire connectors would pass through without difficulty.
IIRC the hole is 1/4" or slightly bigger, I did use a drill press to bore the hole and checked again to make sure the connectors and wires would pass through the hole before taking it out of the vice.

I did screw up and had it assembled the first time with the numbers upside down and had to remove the individual connectors from the big connector that plugs into the bike to turn the gauge back to right side up. I noticed that the indicators sold on Amazon have the word "GEAR" engraved so that you can tell when the correct side is up.

Kenny G
Kenny G is online now  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gear shift drops down and sticks Smitty840 2017+ Honda Rebel 300 & 500 (3rd Gen): Likes And Dislikes 11 07-13-2019 05:44 PM
Gear shift indicator Twizzian What did you do to your 2017+ Honda Rebel today? 74 09-22-2018 07:44 PM
Getting stuck in gear Json_Blob 2017+ Honda Rebel Issues And Problems 15 07-27-2018 08:36 AM
Gear Indicator Display Kenny G What did you do to your 2017+ Honda Rebel today? 28 02-11-2018 11:28 AM
First gear is too short Andrey Engine Discussions 5 08-29-2017 02:50 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome