Is the 500 for me? - Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum
 16Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 01:41 PM Thread Starter

Is the 500 for me?

I love the look of the Rebel, the low seat height (I’m a short arse!) and low weight.
If it was at least a 650cc, I’d be buying it now.

My concern is the power, or lack of comparing to what I’m used to. I’m not a beginner, I’ve been riding a good few years and for the last five I’ve had a SV650. An old model, 2002.

I just want something newer in general, and lower and lightweight.

Will I notice a big drop in power from the SV to the rebel?

Will it be a step down for me, as it seems to be marketed as a beginner bike? And does that even matter?

Is it good for long distance? If I wanted to go touring for a week. No more than 300 miles a day probably. I’m not too bothered about top speeds, as I don’t want to lose my licence! But I do like some torque, to pull away quickly.

Any opinions please?
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 03:34 PM

NO one can "tell you" if is will work for you, only YOU getting on one and riding, if you can, will tell you what you want to know.

We are all different and only you holding onto the bike will tell you.
Sure it's light,
sure it can go freeway speeds.

I saw a story on the national news a few years ago about a old guy riding many hundreds of miles on a moped that didnt go faster than 35.
Dont remember how he did it.

SO we all have our own, is it fast enough, feeling. Its up to you to determine if its good enough.
Everyone on here will say, yep its fine for everything, and then you get one and maybe it is, or maybe its not good enough

Last edited by jdock; 03-07-2019 at 03:39 PM.
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 03:58 PM

You will notice a big power drop. The sv650 has 30more horsepower and about double the torque. Its 0-60 time is a lot faster. Its top speed is 20mph faster. And it weighs only 20lbs more than the Rebel.