I did it...it's here....first ride!!! - Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum
 11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-22-2018, 08:07 AM Thread Starter

I did it...it's here....first ride!!!

My 300 was delivered. My first motorcycle! How exciting! I was so pleased that I had it delivered to my home, so as a complete beginner (only the MFS course) I can ride on my local 25 mph streets to gain some confidence and experience. I rode 80 miles yesterday! I spent about 30 minutes riding my local streets, and I could feel my learning curve changing with every minute. Then I went on some country roads and got the bike up to 50mph! What fun!

Two things:

1) The bike vibrates more than I thought. Not ever having had a motorcycle before, I have no frame of reference how much a bike should vibrate. But my 'imagination' figured it would be less. People here have posted the 300 vibrates "Between X-mph and Y-mph" But my bike seems to vibrate all the time. Now I realize, I'm sitting on a motor. I figure it is what it is. I was using thin leather gloves (think British race car gloves), and there were times my hands got a little numb. So it's time for me to get thicker motorcycle gloves.