North Carolina to California road trip, on a 500... - Honda Rebel 300 & 500 Forum
 20Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-26-2018, 08:42 AM Thread Starter

Cool North Carolina to California road trip, on a 500...

An idea so dumb it just might work. A spark lit up in my brain last night telling me i need to do more with my life. I work as an audio visual tech making videos and promotions for a company in Asheville NC, I've also been riding BMX for about 13 years so my passion has always been bikes and cameras. Two months ago I decided I needed more bikes in my life so i went and got myself a motorcycle a Honda Rebel 500. I've been loving it so much everything about it is amazing. Now i know this is a really dumb idea as it's not the type of bike someone would normally cross the country on, but being that my job is making videos i could see some really amazing youtube series coming from this, maybe even a really big one that a lot of people would watch. Imagine scrolling through youtube and seeing a title of a video "IDIOT CROSS'S COUNTRY ON HONDA REBEL 500" would you not click the link? haha.

I'm not doing it for anyone else but myself but it would be nice if i could make some money off the journey via youtube and a sweet video. I'm sure I'll love it for about 3 days then hate my life, but the idea in my head seems amazing. being that its a Honda Rebel it would be fairly easy to map a route based on dealers or repair shops, I know i won't make it without some problems but ill upgrade my AAA service for when logs hit the fan. But I imagine people of the Internets will eat this up and it will be a journey ill personally never forget. I would only ride the one way also then fly back and ship my bike back, based on what I've seen online shipping should be around $500-$700 which I'm more than ok with.